Consumer Fraud
Reporting
|
|
Recommended: Recommended |
Who is Kevin Hoeffer?Review: Many websites, different stories: does not add up! The name Kevin Hoeffer appears on many websites, each telling a variation of a get-rich story. Since these stories present conflicting information, using the same, similar and varying photos and facts, we deem this very likely to be a scam; certainly there is misdirection and false information presented. There are huge number of similar websites, all using a very similar appearance, layout, stories and pushing similar products. Start investigating with "Kevin Gets Green"This website "http://www.kevingotgreen.com/" presents this story:
And then he starts promoting "EarnFastCashwithGoogle". Later on that webpage, he says "Thank you for visiting my site KevinBlogsite.org. This is Kevin Hoeffer from San Jose, CA." Warning: Why the multiple domain? Kevingotgreen.com or KevinBlogsite.org? Let's compare the two websites. There is a photo of a check from Google, and a picture of a young family (presumably his) at DisneyLand. Warning: "Kevin and his family clearly are not the same people in the images on his different websites. In both cases, he clearly states that these are supposed to be actual photos of him (Kevin) and his family: The photo on the left, below, is from Kevingotgreen.com and Kevinisgreen.com on February 5, 2009. The photo on the right is from Kevinsblogsite.org on the same day. The third photo is from kevingetsthegreen.com Click on the images to got to those websites (note that he may switch images yet again when he realizes that we are pointing out the discrepancy). If you look in the images directory on his websites, you will find the other images he rotates, such as the fourth, below. Warning: The name is blacked out on the check (why?). And that photo (http://www.kevingotgreen.com/images/google-check.jpg ) , according to an image search too (Tineye.com) appears on 41 different websites (including bradsmoney.com and Adsenseconnection.com ); with amounts and names photoshopped. If you zoom in closely, you'll notice that all of the text curves slightly, since the orginal check was being held by two hands causing it to bend slightly. But the text "Five thousand and .." and the amount "5000.00" are straight. The photo below was on Kevingotgreen.com on February 5, 2009 (click on the image to see the website):
This photo (below) was on Bradsmoney.com on February 5, 2009:
Warning: Why are there multiple websites, with nearly identical stories and layouts, using altered photos and different names? Note on "BradsMoney.com" this story:
"Kevin" goes on to say:
Warning: Why would he ask for you to pay $1? Answer: to gain access to your credit card! See this page for an account of what happens. Other References:These websites post additional analyses of the "Kevin" scam:
Related stories Alter Egos - Similar "Kevin websitesHere is a list of some of the "Kevin Hoeffer" websites we found:
These are reported to or appear to be related, or at least use similar styles and approaches. See this website for a more complete and up-to-date list:
|
|
Copyright CFR 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009
- Definition of scam, fraud, etc.
- Legal disclaimer / corrections
/ complaints -
Privacy Policy
|